Winter Severity Index is a Cold Wave project from Rome, Italy.
Created by Simona Ferrucci, singer, guitarist, composer and songwriter.
It was born in 2009 as a traditional band, formed by four young women. During 2010 the band published a self-released EP, “Winter Severity Index”, distributed by AF Music, now sold-out. In the same year and in 2011 the band received lots of good reviews all over Europe and performed gigs in Italy, in Berlin and in Lisbon, at the Graveyard Fest.

In January 2012 the project took the form of a duo, after the decision of two members to leave the band. Simona continued collaborating with Valentina Fanigliulo (a.k.a. Mushy).

Simona and Valentina recorded the new EP “Survival Rate”, released on May 2013 by Blood Rock Records. The EP, now sold out, has been widely distributed all over the world and collected many of good reviews from music magazines and web-zines. It will be re-issued on Manic Depression titled “Katabasis” expanded with singles taken from compilations.
Now Simona is collaborating with Alessandra Romeo (ex Cat Fud and Bohemien) on synths and Giovanni Stax on bass for live performances.

They recorded the first LP of the project, “Slanting Ray”, released on April 2014 by Manic Depression and Blood Rock Records, now sold out, it will be re-released mid-2017 by Manic Depression including a remix by Hord.
The album was presented in several venues and festivals all over Europe and it was mentioned as one of the best New Wave album of the year by many magazines, both in Italy and abroad.

Their second LP “Human Taxonomy”, released by Manic Depression Records in may 2016, was presented in first preview at the Wave Gothic Treffen in Leipzig, receiving a warm welcoming by the audience.

   


NEWS

Winter Severity Index

Winter Severity Index est un projet Cold Wave de Rome, Italie.
Fondé par Simona Ferrucci, chanteuse, guitariste, compositrice et auteur.
Né en 2009 comme un groupe de musique traditionnelle, formée par quatre jeunes femmes. En 2010, le groupe a publié un EP auto-produit, « Winter Severity Index », distribué par AF Musique, maintenant épuisé. Dans la même année et en 2011, le groupe a reçu beaucoup de bonnes critiques de toute l’Europe et à réalisé des concerts en Italie, à Berlin et à Lisbonne, au Graveyard Fest.

En Janvier 2012, le projet a pris la forme d’un duo, après la décision de deux membres de quitter le groupe. Simona a continué de collaborer avec Valentina Fanigliulo (alias Mushy).
Simona et Valentina ont enregistré le nouvel EP « Survival Rate », publié en mai 2013 par le Blood Rock Records. L’EP, maintenant épuisé, a été largement distribué partout dans le monde et recueilli beaucoup de bonnes critiques de magazines de musique et web-zines. Il sera réédité par Manic Depression mi-2017 sous le nom de « Katabasis» accompagné de singles issus de compilations.
Maintenant Simona collabore avec Alessandra Romeo (ex Cat Fud et Bohemien) aux synthétiseurs, accompagnées de Giovanni Stax à la basse pour les concerts.

Elles ont enregistré le premier LP, « Slanting Ray », sorti en Avril 2014 en Manic Depression and Blood Rock Records, épuisé depuis, il sera réédité mi-2017 agrémenté d’un remix de Hord.
L’album a été présenté dans plusieurs salles et festivals partout en Europe et il a été mentionné comme l’un des meilleurs album New Wave de l’année par de nombreux magazines, en Italie comme à l’étranger.

Leur deuxième LP « Human Taxonomy », publié par Manic Depression Records en mai 2016, a été présenté en avant-première à la Wave Gothic Treffen à Leipzig, recevant un accueil chaleureux du public.

   


NEWS