Schonwald

With Schonwald everything is focused on atmospheres.
Minimalist, synthetic and hypnotic atmospheres gaze on New Order, The Cure, Suicide. The guitars echo the blades of My Bloody Valentine, Curve.

Despite its German name, Schonwald is an Italian duo.
Despite of its marked influences, Schonwald has a unique place in the European undergound and emerges at the expense of their many concerts where a personal universe is revealed, where distills the perfect blend between nostalgia and modernity, coldness and sensuality.

A first album “Amplified Nature” is released in 2009 (Pocket Heaven Records – Lux).
Two other releases follow “Dream for the Fall” (2014) and “Between Parallel Lights” (2015), collaborations between the French labels Manic Depression and Anywave. Then « Night Idyll » released in 2017 on Manic Depression.

With Schonwald the European Post punk at its peak.
Alessandra and Luca create a pulsation, an electronic vibration, atmospheric, black, so cold, which crashes on shiny, hypnotic and melancholic guitars.
The perfect match for our modern world, frozen for ever, and with an obvious effectiveness.

With the artistic promise to make a step forward from the gloomy shades, “Night Idyll”, their new album, transforms dark into psychedelic drone made of shimmering ethereal movements, strongly inspired by a brighter nocturnal dance, making in particular “Love Collides” an ideal new start.

Significantly, the songs favour imagery of love-passion lasting over time. The massive melodies replacing the claustrophobic, smothering mood of previous Schonwald work. It is a new-found appreciation of space, and the actual melody itself, infused with a kind of vainglorious mix of Shoegaze, Darkwave and Dream Pop.

   


NEWS

Schonwald

Avec Schonwald tout est concentré sur les atmosphères.
Des ambiances minimalistes, synthétiques et hypnotiques lorgnent vers New Order, The Cure, Suicide.
Les guitares font écho aux lames de My Bloody Valentine, Curve.

Malgré son nom allemand, Schonwald est un duo Italien.
Malgré ses influences marquées Schonwald se fait une place unique dans l’underground européen et émerge au gré de leurs nombreux concerts où se dévoile un univers personnel, où se distille le mélange parfait entre nostalgie et modernité, froideur et sensualité.

Un premier album « Amplified Nature » sort en 2009 (Pocket Heaven Records – Lux).
S’enchaînent deux autres sorties « Dream for the Fall » (2014) et « Between Parallel Lights » (2015), collaborations des labels français Manic Depression et Anywave. Puis « Night Idyll » sorti en 2017 chez Manic Depression.

Avec Schonwald le Post punk européen à son apogée.
Alessandra et Luca créent une pulsation, une vibration électronique, atmosphérique, noire, si froide, qui s’écrase sur des guitares brillantes, hypnotiques et mélancoliques.
L’accord parfait pour notre monde moderne, glacé à jamais, et d’une efficacité évidente.

Avec la promesse artistique de s’éloigner des nuances sombres, « Night Idyll », leur dernier album, transforme la noirceur en drone psychédélique, en mouvements éthérés, chatoyants, fortement inspirés par une danse nocturne, plus brillante, en faisant en particulier de « Love Collides » un nouveau départ idéal.

De manière significative, les chansons favorisent l’imagerie de l’amour-passion qui dure au fil des années. Les mélodies écrasantes remplacent l’humeur claustrophobique et étouffante du précédent travail de Schonwald. C’est une nouvelle appréciation de l’espace et de la mélodie elle-même, imprégnée d’une sorte de mélange presque arrogant de Shoegaze, de Dark Wave et de Dream Pop.

     


NEWS